Foods me miss

In no particular order:

• beans — bean salads, refried beans, etc.
• cheese
• most Italian food, including pasta and chicken/veal/eggplant parmagiana
• sausages
• breaded spicy shrimp from the Chinese food place near my house
• just about anything else from the Chinese food place near my house
• pop (soft drinks)
• pizza
• Tex-Mex food in general
• sandwiches in general
• booze: cocktails, spirits, beer

And a few things that a Toronto-raised kid in particular will find painful to lack: hot dogs from vendor carts (a.k.a. street meat); and curries both East and West Indian (especially oxtail curry with rice and peas, or a roti with either boneless goat or mixed channa and spinach). Also, while I guess I can still have pho, it won’t be the same without noodles or bean sprouts. Also on the subject of Vietnamese food, I’d step on your foot for a bánh mì. Hard.

Looking at the list, none of it is particularly healthy — except maybe the beans, or so I thought pre-paleo — but you’d better believe I’m counting down the days before I can have them again. (Ten more sleeps, baby.)

5 Responses to “Foods me miss”

  1. Chris Robbins Says:

    If you haven’t peruse Mark Sisson’s blog at MarksDailyApple.com with his 80/20 rule. He allows you to have the occassional wine or beer or whiskey. And Richard over at FreeTheAnimal.com has curry. He might make it in a special way. Not sure but I’m sure he has the recipe on his blog. And, well, sausage as far as I’m aware of is considered primal/paleo food. So that shouldn’t comprimise you at all.

  2. I’ve been mostly paleo for three years, and have maintained the initial weight loss effortlessly, but I’ve added back some dairy, but only high-fat, e.g. Greek yogurt, sour cream, cream, cheese.

    • beans — bean salads, refried beans, etc.
    Never liked ’em, don’t miss ’em

    • cheese
    I do indulge. Mmmm, brie…

    • most Italian food, including pasta and chicken/veal/eggplant parmagiana
    I can still have all that, minus the pasta.

    • sausages
    You can find sausages with no fillers, just meat and spices.

    • breaded spicy shrimp from the Chinese food place near my house
    • just about anything else from the Chinese food place near my house
    Chinese make a lot of nice dishes with meat and veg

    • pop (soft drinks)
    Never liked them much, don’t miss them

    • pizza
    I miss pizza too! Although the toppings can be had easily over some other base

    • Tex-Mex food in general
    Fajitas! Guacamole!

    • sandwiches in general
    Just have the ingredients in a bowl, minus the bread

    • booze: cocktails, spirits, beer
    In moderation.

    Stay healthy!

    GK

  3. Reading paleo websites and related nutrition oriented websites have altered my view of what is nutritious food. I don’t do “paleo” as such, but I have gotten away from eating refined foods, all grain products, industrial vegatable oils, and milk. I still eat other dairy. That, to me, is a healthy diet and I don’t miss anything I gave up. It’s paleo enough for me. I’ve lost 30 lbs. in 6 months – blood tests have great numbers – feeling great. You perhaps should give the diet longer for you to get over the cravings for other foods and if you add back some dairy , it gives you so many more options with your menu (yes, it’s not technically paleo).

    My very favorite website for nutrition is the PaNu blog by Dr. Harris (paleonu.com). He has a 12 step plan that I have found extremely valuable in helping me with my new lifestyle. He backs up his recommendations with science throughout his blog. He is easy to understand and offers you a great education through his efforts. (I’m not affiliated with his blog in any way.)

  4. mark,
    if you are interested, i can do a full caloric and macronutrient breakdown of you last 10 days of paleo and your first 10 days of neo (neolithic)

    I do this for clients and it tells a lot of the story as to how food it effecting you and may shed some light on how efficiently bodies run on a paleo diet as opposed to a more north american neo diet.

  5. I think it’s important to keep all of this in perspective. As the ever-wise “they” say, don’t sacrifice good in striving for great. I’ll eat all of those foods, but they are definitely not a part of my regular diet. Once every two or three weeks, I’ll definitely splurge on something that doesn’t quite work with me.

    The other thing that I think is important is that “Paleo” is really the starting point. After thirty days, I think people should start tinkering with eliminated foods one by one to see what kind of effect it has on them. Personally, I prefer to adhere strictly to Paleo for my daily routine eating, but every two – three weeks, I’ll go nuts and have a burger, a couple slices of pizza, or a really fancy dessert. It’s all about doing what works for you. But when you break in 10 days, be careful and go slow (1 neolithic meal per day for the first 3 – 5 days). I’m not even kind of kidding here; if you have an underlying intolerance and you go nuts on day 31, there’s the potential of doing some major damage.

Leave a Reply

