Cave Day Two: fresh kill

Day Two of Caveman month went more pleasantly than Day One thanks to some hunting and gathering at two separate grocery stores.

I am within easy walking distance of both. One is a fairly standard grocery chain store, and I visited that one before work. The other is a discount version of another Canadian chain, and I dropped in there after work.

True to expectations, I kept my spear aimed squarely at the outside rim of the supermarket, piling veggies, fruit, seafood and meat into my basket. Although I did visit the work cafeteria again to assemble a side salad to go with some roast beef for lunch, I spent the rest of the day happily eating food I’d purchased at reasonable prices.

I was gripped at the meat refrigerator by the odd sensation of unfamiliarity, realizing suddenly that I don’t actually know how to cook most of the available kill. And I consider myself a pretty good cook. But like most meat-eaters in Western countries I dine pretty exclusively on prime, or prepared, chunks of animal  — chicken breasts, steaks, sausages and other low-fuss foods — to the almost total exclusion of organ meat and challenging, tough cuts such as brisket.

So to a great extent I stuck to familiar but relatively expensive “aristocratic” meats, since that’s all I actually know how to cook

However, on my next visit to the store I resolve to challenge myself by committing to some pork kidneys or the like. And at $1.52 for a pack of three, pork kidneys sure are economical. I just don’t have any idea what they taste like. Thank God I have an adventuresome palate.

In the end the day’s full haul included: smoked wild Pacific salmon, smoked trout, ground turkey, collard greens, turnips, baby carrots, apples, lemon, bananas, onion, four punnets of blueberries (on sale at both stores), mustard seeds (more than $4 for the container, but I think a good investment in flavour), wild Pacific salmon in a can (for a hunger emergency; it was on sale), chamomile and peppermint teas, radishes, garlic, avacados and, most important,  a “value pack” of six pork chops. Corrected to add: a package of delicious cold sliced roast beef.

I tried to get lard at the discount store but they didn’t have any, so I’ll try the standard grocery store next.

The total cost was around $70. I’d be more precise but I left the receipts at home.

6 Responses to “Cave Day Two: fresh kill”

  1. Hey Adam –

    Where’s the beef?

    Also, you’re not Paleo without eggs and bacon. Pick up that spear and go gather some more. 🙂

    Highly enjoying this journal. Grok On! (if you don’t know what that means, visit http://marksdailyapple.com – author of the Primal Blueprint)

  2. I got some roast beef (and I’m eating some right now as I write), I had eggs in the fridge already, and I’m not convinced bacon is a paleolithic food, and regarding bacon I’m pretty unconvinced that paleolithic people ate cured meats.

  3. Jeff, I’m probably going to be clarifying whether I’m on a paleo diet (i.e., weight-loss program with little interest in strict prehistoric authenticity) or a caveman diet (prehistory ruling over weight-loss/fitness concerns; more of an experiential than a fitness/weight-conscious undertaking).

    My early mistake starting out was not realizing there are two distinct tribes out there. I’m more interested in joining the latter, since the journalism will be more interesting (and funny).

  4. Your blog here isn’t being searched by Google Blog Search. I just submitted it to them.

  5. Wow, Don, thank you. I appreciate that.

  6. Sadly, the lard that you will find in the supermarket is hydrogenated to increase shelf life. Transfat city! You might want to splurge and seek out a good butcher, who should be able to sell you pork fat for rendering your own lard – or lard! Might even have duck fat too. Good luck! Great blog.

Leave a Reply

