Getting the hang of caveman eating

Well-marbled, bursting with umami and glistening an appetizing reddish-brown in the centre, the centrepiece of lunch on Caveman Day Two was four thick slices of the tastiest roast beef I’ve ever tasted.

The beef came from a Metro (a chain of grocery stores you find mostly in Ontario and Quebec, I believe). It cost $5.68 and I had a little less than half the package for lunch. On the side was a side salad from the work canteen, $2.70).

I did paleo-cheat by pairing it with Strub’s prepared horseradish, which contains added salt and sugar. Does that make it count as “processed” food? I would chop up some raw horseradish if I could find some. Or is that a bad excuse?

Dinner: pork chops very loosely inspired by a recipe from Gordon Ramsay’s Fast Food cookbook. It’s a refreshingly practical family dinner manual, chock full of pretty easy recipes that can feed a paleo-person with only slight modification in many cases.

My main was essentially baked pork chops, the top flavoured with some garlic and spices (thyme and rosemary by Ramsay’s direction; smoked paprika was my own last-minute impulse addition).

On the side, steamed collard greens with pepper (but no butter for caveman). For dessert, a banana.

My vegetarian fiancée even thought it all smelled and looked delicious. And even though I’m usually snacky and peckish late at night, I went to bed without having felt the need to make the usual trip or two to the kitchen to rummage for nuts or something.

3 Responses to “Getting the hang of caveman eating”

  1. Love the photos!

    Your greens looked a little lonely – why not add some butter? This is an area of discrepancy between paleo and primal folks, but butter is a saturated fat, from animals and so I’ll add that in when I can. Or you could sautee it in olive oil for more flavors as well.

    I just checked my site stats – http://www.primalchat.com is providing you some decent link love based on the post I did of you. Don’t let us down Adam! So far you’re doing great

  2. But butter has some casein, and we paleo people consider casein a toxic protein. We did not milk cows during the Paleolithic Era. What could be considered paleo is grass-fed ghee, as practically all dairy protein is removed, and we know the Omega 6:3 ratio is correct.

    One place to get it is http://www.pureindianfoods.com/

  3. Good job Adam. You will find that some foods are banned on a strictly philosophical level rather than a nutrional one. I disagree with jeff on the butter however. If you are going to get your saturated fats make sure then come from your lean meats. Cook in Canola enriched Olive Oil if possible and avoid the butter/margarine that makes food taste so good 😦

    In terms of the roast beef there, did you cook that roast yourself? If not I’m sure it is loaded with preservatives and other ^&*(#)@ which is no good. Even Boars Head brand which claims to be healthier will have added sodium.

    Just as a quick note. I started the Paleo diet in September and it changed the way I view food forever. I did the 30 day paleo challenge and continued on well after the 31st day. Now I’m at the point where restaurant food from the typical Corp chain restaurants disgusts me and I am cooking the majority of my food myself.

    Best of luck and I’ll be watching to hear your updates.

Leave a Reply

